SIOTD 12/27 The Recovery Shave

12272014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl
Soap:  C.O. Bigelow – Eucalyptus
Razor: Maggard Razors M3
Blade:  Laser Super Platinum (5)
Splash:   Wal-Mart Witch Hazel 86%
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer & Fine Classic After Shaving Splash – Platinum

Whew!  Hope everyone had a fantastic Christmas!  I know I did.  Love it when my family gets together drama free LOL  I ate waty too much as expected.  Spent too much money on my dog.  Watched “A Christmas Story” 8 times, 3 back to back.  Yep good times…

So this week, mainly so I wouldn’t have to think about it, I’ve been using the same blade/razor combo everyday.  The M3 and a Laser Super Platinum blade that a Facebook friend sent me a few of.  I’d never heard of Laser so I went into the shaves with no pre-conceived notions.  Wow!  This is an awesome blade!  I mean seriously!  Good and sharp from first shave, to shave five.  Still super smooth.  Never a tug or s skip, regardless of the soap I used.  How have I not heard of these before?  I can’t remember seeing them in anyone’s SOTD.  Maybe they just didn’t blip my radar or something.  Well they have my attention now!  Gonna try them in one of my adjustables next.

Another change I made this week was in my lather generation.  If you’ve noticed I use a couple of bowls for lather pretty regularly.  I have a black salsa bowl that I picked up at Wal-Mart, and a small ceramic bowl that someone made for me.  Well on Christmas eve, I had an amazing (meaning blatantly obvious lol) idea.  Usually I would let the bowl (either one) sit in the hot water during prep.  Then it’d be warm during lather generation.  But unfortunately would lose that warmth quickly during the shave.  So what I did was “soak” both bowls during prep.  Then I put a little hot water in the salsa bowl, then placed the ceramic bowl in the salsa bowl.  Voila!  Instant cheapskate scuttle!  Works great!  Lather stayed very warm throughout the entire shave and then some.  So that’s going to be my new go to method for the rest of Winter, or until I invest in a real scuttle lol

Now time for more Christmas leftovers!!

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?