SOTD 1/19 Latherism

01192015

Pre: Sir Hare Bald Head Care Shaving Oil – Beach Bum
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Neon Barber Handle (The Force)
Soap:  WSP Rustic Shaving Soap – Pumpkin Spice
Razor: ’88 Gillette Super Adjustable – Black Beauty
Blade:  Astra SP (2)
Splash:   Thayers Natural Remedies Lemon Witch Hazel w/ Aloe Vera Astringent
Post: Nivea Sensitive ASB & Lucky Tiger Bay Rum AS

Another mild, calm morning weather-wise.  So I know some wicked weather is coming soon.  That’s how Michigan is.  We always get punished for unseasonably good weather.  So we are trying to enjoy it while we can.  Sub zero temps are coming I know it LOL

Great shave this morning!  Put some WSP soap to work.  You know, I have been doing comparisons for awhile now, but I honestly can’t decide which soap is the better lather, between Maggard Razors soaps and WSP soaps.  They both make absolutely fantastic lather easily.  I think WSP lather is a little denser, more yogurt-like.  The Maggard soaps have a bit more slickness.  Maybe.  The comparisons will continue.

Second shave on my go to blade, Astra SP.  Nicely sharp still and super smooth.  It’s almost time for me to get some more of these.  I’m down to my last pack.  I think I will split the order between these and the Astra SS.  They are so close in performance as to be almost imperceptibly interchangeable for me.  I think that may have bumped my previous faves, the Personna Reds, down a notch.  Not taking anything from the Reds, but the Astras are just so consistent and smooth in any razor I throw them in.  So I’ll probably get 5 packs of the SPs and the SSs.  I don’t think I’ll ever buy a 100pk of any blade.  I’ve thought about it a lot and that just seems like a waste.  I like variety 🙂

Also I tried out my newly pif won shaving bowl.  I do like it, especially the handle.  Now I just need to rig up a way to keep it warm.  I’ve spoiled myself with my old cheapskate scuttle.  I demand warm lather now lol

“Monday is great if I can spend it in bed. I’m a man of simple pleasures, really” – .Arthur Darvill

1 Comment

Filed under SOTD

One response to “SOTD 1/19 Latherism

  1. mickeyobe

    “Now I just need to rig up a way to keep it warm. I’ve spoiled myself with my old cheapskate scuttle. I demand warm lather now lol”

    SOTD,
    What do you think of this?
    I am sure you have heard of the Rose Bowl, The Cotton Bowl, The Sugar Bowl, The Salad Bowl, The Toilet Bowl.
    I have been honored by having a bowl named after me.

    The newest is now The Mickey Bowl.
    Michal Yoresh a ceramic artist and potter who lives in Modi-in, Israel and I have been working on this for a few months.
    Me in peaceful Toronto and Michal between dashes to air raid shelters in Modi-in. She works magic with clay.

    This is what we have come up with. I can not think of any more ways to improve it.

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/196465491/a-mickey-shaving-bowl-made-to-be-used-on?ref=shop_home_active_8

    I have developed a protocol to enable users to get the most out of what is a rather versatile shaving instrument.
    I can send it to you if you wish,

    Mickey

Let me know what you think?