SOTD 9/2 The Col. Has Been Conked

09022014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: Col. Conks Famous Glycerin Shave Soap – Bay Rum
Razor:  32 -40 Gillette New Long Comb Bar Handle
Blade:  Shark SS(2)
Splash:  Thayers Natural Remedies Lemon Witch Hazel w/ Aloe Vera Astringent
Post: Brut Original Fragrance Moisturizing ASB & Master Well Bay Rum AS

New soap today!  And new mug!  I was excited to get started on the shave this morning.  It’s going to be a long but I’m sure interesting day as I’ll be at a local college’s freshman day from 10-6 manning a booth.  Fun right?

Let’s start with Col. Conk’s Shaving Soap.  I picked it up mainly because it was cheap, but also because I hadn’t read anything bad about it.  Plus I hadn’t tried a glycerin soap.  So I popped it in my “new” Old Spice mug.  Using a boar brush I loaded it for a good 30 seconds, which is my standard procedure.  So far so so good.  Transferred it to my “whipping” bowl and started building lather.  Looked a little flat so I added some water.  Looked a little better.  Never really got nice and thick, but it looked decent.  Applied it to my head and immediately saw that it was super thin.  I went ahead with the  first pass.  It was decently slick, but had no cushion at all.  So I whipped it some more for the second pass.  Same result.  Surprisingly the skin feel between passes was pretty decent.  But the lather stayed very thin.  Barely had enough to complete the third pass.  My second complaint – for a bay rum, the scent is almost unnoticeable.  I really couldn’t smell it at all during the shave, and it was very faint during the lather building.  Over all I am not impressed with Col. Conk.  Of course I will give it a couple more tries but not expecting my opinion to change much.

Second shave on the Shark blade.  Even with the sub par lather it shaved nice and close, with only 1 small weeper.  Ended up BBS front to back. No irritation.

I’m off to the college.  have a great Tuesday in this short week!

 

3 Comments

Filed under SOTD

3 responses to “SOTD 9/2 The Col. Has Been Conked

  1. I had wondered about their soap. Thanks for the review. Leaving it off my buy list.

Let me know what you think?