Fourth of July Shave!

07042014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: VDH Boar
Razor: Gillette Super Speed
Blade: Astra SP (3)
Soap: Arko (puck)
Post:  Nivea Sensitive ASB
After:  Pinaud Clubman Classic AS

Happy Independence Day!  Start of what looks to be a great 3 day weekend.  No real plans, just kicking back and playing it by ear.  I do know some brew and BBQ are in my immediate future!

Back to the shave, it was a good one.  Last shave on the Astra SP.  Still plenty sharp and smooth.  I can see 4-5 shaves on this blade.  Definitely going into the future rotation.  Went back to the Arko today.  I do really like that scent.  It’s so fresh and clean smelling.  I had better results with the lather this time also.  I soaked the puck a bit during prep and then used that loading method where you hold the puck upside down and swirl.  I forget the name of the method so if you know, feel free to tell me in the comments 🙂

My dome is still tender from “unfortunate Monday”.  It’s really frustrating.  It’s just so slow healing.  I’m trying to be as careful with it as I can, but honestly it would drive me nuts to skip a day or two of shaving.  So I just shave really slow and easy.  Maybe I’ll try to skip tomorrow… no promises…  enjoy your holiday!

 

4 Comments

Filed under SOTD

4 responses to “Fourth of July Shave!

  1. Chris

    Where are you getting the blade samples? I’d like to try some different ones.

Let me know what you think?