SOTD 7/6/2014 and Thank You!

07062014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: GBS Pure Badger
Soap: Coates Original Almond Shaving Cream for Dry Skin
Razor: Maggard Razors MR3
Blade: Treet Platinum
Splash: Aqua Velva Ice Blue Classic
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer

First of all I want to thank you guys!  Yesterday I hit a record 417 unique views in one day!  That is a HUGE spike in views for me.  And it’s all thanks to you guys! THANK YOU!!  It definitely inspires me to keep doing this, knowing that someone else enjoys it.

Now for the shave..

WOW.  I think I just had the smoothest head shave I have EVER had.  I mean I have had smooth shaves.  I frequently get BBS head shaves.  But this shave stood out like crazy.  The combination of my MR3 razor and the Treet Platinum blade was incredible!  It was so smooth, I kept checking to make sure the blade was actually contacting my skin!  No exaggeration! And to think, I’ve had these Treet blades forever and never used one.  Matter of fact, the only reason I tried one finally is because of my lifelong ace Chris C.  Back when I first started head shaving, I convinced him to join me.  Then when I switched over to safety razors (and he saw that I wasn’t flaying myself) he followed suit also.  I recently sent him a blade sampler to try out.  Some of the major brands and some not-so-major brands.  The one he really liked was the Treet blade.  I know YMMV, especially with blades, so I didn’t think much about it.  Last night as I was preparing for this mornings shave (yes, I prepare the night before, sometimes lol), I saw the Treets in my blade box so I grabbed one.  MAN am I glad that I did!  I know that one shave is too soon to call it, but I’m pretty sure I will be buying more of these blades.

Enough about the blade right?  The Coates performed excellent as always.  My GBS brush is starting to bloom.  According to pics I’ve seen around the net, it’s looking pretty decent so far.  I’ll have to post some bloom pics soon.  Topped off the shave with the AV Ice Blue.  Love that classic scent.  Enjoy your Sunday!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?