Spoils…

Man this weekend has been an active one!  I’m pretty much worn out.  Spent all day Saturday at the renaissance fair.  It was a surprisingly good time.  Lot’s of good entertainment and good food.  i even got put into medieval jail LOL  Ended up spending money I didn’t need to spend.  Picked up a nice Scottish Sgian-Dubh and a really cool glass orb jar.  The jar I used as my background prop on my 8/3 SOTD.  But yeah I know that’s not what you came to read about…

Today we were wandering southwest michigan as I tend to do.  Actually initially we were headed for Grand Haven and the last day of the Coast Guard festival, but that never happened.  When I wander I like to take the back roads and make a leisurely drive out of it.  Doing so exposes me to communities and places that I would otherwise never know about.  This morning our convoluted course found us in Fennville where I discovered the Saugatuck Blue Star Antique Pavilion.  Huge antique store.  More like an antique consignment warehouse, which I typically don’t like because the item owners aren’t there for me to dicker with.  But anyway the place was massive so we had to stop.

Inside was pretty much what I expected.  Row upon row of typical antique ware.  Stuff that I see at any antique store.  It get’s pretty boring.  There were a couple of cool items like some German harmonicas from the ’20s, but were priced way out of my price range.  I figured this was going to be yet another bust, when low and behold I found a case with some razors!  There was a white handled injector, a Clog-Pruf, and what looked like a mis-matched 3 piece.  Unfortunately the owner had them ridiculously priced!  He wanted $79.99 for the Schick alone!  $79.99!  So you can imagine what kind of mood that put me in.

Well i was about to call it quits when I found another case with razors.  This time the selection was a little better, and the prices a lot better (forgive the pics, I was excited when taking them lol)…

sag01

 

I was tempted by the Auto-Strop.  It was $45, still to high for me to pull the trigger.  The GEM was in great condition but priced at $25.  No thanks.  So I moved on, my mood slightly elevated by the finds.  Row after row until again I found a case with razors… and these prices were what I was looking for!

sag02

 

I was ecstatic!  I immediately saw two razors that I didn’t have and at decent prices!  So I snatched them up.  The Gillette Ball Handle Short Comb and the GEM with case & blades.  Yes, I know I should have grabbed the NOS Black Handle TTO.  I know.  I tried to talk myself into it but I didn’t.  Maybe I’ll go back next Sunday, if it’s still there I’ll probably grab it.  But I was, and still am on cloud nine with my finds!  Now I’m fired up to hit more antique spots.  Maybe Shipshewana. 😉

Here’s the Gillette, pre-cleaning.  It’s in great shape.  Some plate lost on the head.:

wild01

 

And here’s the GEM.  The razor is in brand new condition.  Definitely NOS.  The case is a little worse for wear, but has the original instruction pamphlet and the original blades are sealed!:

wild02So what do you think?  Good score?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Life, safety razor

2 responses to “Spoils…

  1. BigMark

    Not bad dude. I would have snagged up the superspeed. I am glad to see I am not the only one that has considered using an SE on my head. BTW how much did this set you back?

Let me know what you think?