SOTD 9/5

09052014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: Arko Men – Cool
Razor:  ’’72 Gillette Tech with Muhle handle (Frankentech)
Blade:  Rapira Super Stainless(2)
Splash:  Humphreys Alcohol Free Cucumber Melon Witch Hazel Facial Toner
Post: Pinaud Clubman Classic AS

Nice comfortable shave this morning.  Nothing too exciting but nothing disappointing either.  Just a  smooth, regular shave.

The Arko Men cream is another one of those soaps that is great in it’s price category.  It’s not going to compete with most good artisan soaps, but it definitely holds its own.  Great lather, decent cushion and razor glide.  Not much going on scent-wise that I could detect.  It’s designation is “Cool” but the amount of menthol in the soap must be infinitesimal as I didn’t feel any at all.  Overall it’s a good cream to throw in a travel kit, or to use as a cheap everyday soap.

Second shave on the Rapira blade.  Felt still sharp and decently smooth.  Although it works decently in the Tech head, I still feel it would do better in a sightly more aggressive razor or an adjustable.  I might push this one to four shaves to see how it fairs.  DFS with no touch up.

One thing I forgot to mention about the Arko Men, it feels very moisturizing and has a great skin feel.  So much so that I decided to forego my usual balm application and just went with after shave.  We’ll see how that works.  TGIF!  It’s gonna be a hot and humid one 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?