SOTD 9/14 You Need Tabac Up Off me!

09142014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: Tabac
Razor:  Schick Injector – L Series
Blade:  Schick Injector Blade
Splash:  Humphreys Alcohol Free Cucumber Melon Witch Hazel Facial Toner
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer & Aqua Velva Musk

This morning was a momentous occasion!  Drum roll please……this morning I used the famous (or infamous depending on your point of view) Tabac!  Thanks to Pete S.  He loves this soap so much he was adamant that I give it a try so… 😉

First impressions – Super rich lather!  I just pressed some of it into the bottom of my bowl.  Used my usual amount of water and it lathered great!  Very easy.  Smooth and substantial lather with excellent moisture and razor glide!  I can definitely see why Pete and other Tabac lovers champion this soap.  Skin feel between passes was very smooth and not dry at all. Needed very little ASB post shave.  I probably could have skipped it.

tabac

Now for the “elephant in the room”… the distinctive Tabac scent!  I have to say, for me it is a crazy soapy scent.  When I say soapy I mean it smells like I am shaving with laundry detergent soapy!  Now don’t take this as a negative.  I do actually happen to like soapy scents.  But so far, this is the soapiest smelling shave soap I have ever used!  I would purchase some based on its performance alone, so the scent is definitely not a deal breaker.  I couldn’t use it everyday, but I will definitely use it again 🙂

New blade in the Schick.  Still performing great.  Ended up with a total BBS, with only a couple minor weepers in my typical trouble area.  So I’m thinking the iffy shave I had with my PAL last time was either a bad blade, or my PAL needs attention. Although there was nothing visually wrong that I could detect.

Have a great Sunday, Sunday, SUNDAY!!!

 

4 Comments

Filed under SOTD

4 responses to “SOTD 9/14 You Need Tabac Up Off me!

  1. Love Tabac. To my nose it is a floral powdery scent but not girl flowery… more man like. I bought the aftershave and to me it smells the same but my wife said it has a hint of musk to it.

  2. Scott F

    Oh Tabac!!! Such an awesome soap. The performance outweighs its scentby a lot. I ddon’t mind the scent but my views are the same as yours. It performs too well not to use. Cheers on a great read!!

Let me know what you think?