SOTD 11/11 Down The Rabbit Hole – Deux

11112014

Pre: Sir Hare Bald Head Care Shaving Oil – Beach Bum
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: Sir Hare Artisan Shaving Soap – Drunken Sailor
Razor:  Schick Injector – L Series
Blade:  Schick Injector (3)
Splash:  Thayers Natural Remedies Lemon Witch Hazel w/ Aloe Vera Astringent
Post: Nivea Sensitive ASB & Master Well Bay Rum

Couldn’t wait for my shave this morning!  Why you ask?  Because I received an unexpected surprise in the mail yesterday.  New soap from Sir Hare!  Now if you’ve followed my posts you know that I am a fan of their Bald Head Care Shaving Oil.  I primarily use it as a pre-shave oil, but occasionally shave with just the oil.  It has one of my favorite scents!  But this isn’t about the oil, it’s about the soap!

First impressions, I absolutely love the packaging design.  It’s about 4oz of soap tucked in that familiar little approx. 3″ wide tin that is popular with many vendors.  You can tell they put some thought (and cash) into the design.  One thing I have to note is that the labeling appears water proof, or at least water resistant!  I hate when I get a soap and the first time I use it, the label gets all soggy and trashed.  Just a small pet peeve lol

The scent is called “Drunken Sailor”.  It’s a bay rum type scent, hence the sailor tie in.  To my nose there are definite bay rum elements to it, but i detect some floral undertones that definitely separate it from the more traditional rums.  I do like the scent, as did my co-workers when I opened it in the office.  Unfortunately, the scent is rather faint and doesn’t last long during the shave.  YMMV.  I tend to prefer longer lasting, stronger scents.  But while I could smell it, I really enjoyed it.

It lathers fairly easily.  I used my traditional method.  Dropped a little hot water on the puck during pre-shave.  Speaking of the puck, it’s a definitely a harder soap.  The puck can easily be removed from the tin, if desired.  With my boar brush, the lather came quickly and in abundance.  So amount is not an issue.  What could be an issue is the type of lather.

suds

It was sudsy.  Really sudsy.  At first I thought maybe I had added too much water, so I scrapped it and re-generated more.  Still really sudsy.  Super airy and thin.  Upon application to the dome, I felt like I had to shave quickly as I was watching the lather quickly disappear.  A couple of times I had to re-apply to complete the pass.  Because of the fast dissolve rate, there really wasn’t any cushion to speak of.  The razor glide was pretty decent.  That being said, I still managed a really close and smooth shave with it.  The skin feel was pretty comfortable also.

Being this was my first attempt at lathering this soap, YMMV.  Once I use it a couple of more times, I will have a better picture of what kind of lather this soap is capable of.  I know I have really hard water and have had issues with lathering pucks in the past (i.e Arko). But based on what I have seen this morning, I would say it’s worth giving it a try.  I like what Sir Hare is doing in the wet shaving community and definitely want to encourage them to continue!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?