4/10 Review: That guy Jeeves

image

I love it when people send me new soaps to try. It’s exciting being in on the start of what could be the next shaving sensation! It’s humbling that they trust me to offer an unbiased opinion of their product.  So of course I was happy to find two samples of Bryan P’s new soap!

I say samples but he actually sent two full pucks, which is nice, as it lets me evaluate the soap like i would normally use it. 

First, the packaging. The pucks come wrapped in decorative paper, over a wax paper liner. Don’t know if this is how they will ship but I feel like the soap is pretty protected. The outer wrapping reminds me of those fancy bath soaps my grandmother used to buy back in the day. I like that. I think it fits the name well. Classy.

Upon opening the soap, my initial thoughts were that the scent is very faint. But don’t take that as a knock because I personally tend to like stronger scents. The cherry blossom has a nice light springy scent, if you’re into floral. I actually was thinking it would smell like cherries… Until I remembered the blossoms don’t smell like the fruit lol

I did my usual prep. Fiddled a few drops of hot water on the puck during it. I probably didn’t need to as it is a softer puck to begin with. Fit perfectly in my Old Spice mug. I had to evict Col. Conk to make room. Using a boar brush I proceeded to work the puck. Ok let me stop here for a second. Typically, in my experience, it takes a few seconds of brush work for actual lather to start forming on a puck.  It was almost immediate! I was distracted for a second by Chico, and when I looked back down at the bowl, it was already full of pre-lather! So I added about a tablespoon of water and watched as it whipped into a thick, rich lather effortlessly.

The lather had staying power, which is typically my biggest gripe with new soaps. Great density, excellent cushion. My skin felt nicely protected. Decent sickness kept the blade moving smooth over my skin. And as I mentioned, the lather stayed strong to the end. Lasted 3 passes on the dome and 3 on the face. I hated to rinse it out of the bowl lol

I have to say I’m pretty impressed with this soap so far. Already it performs better than several established soaps I’ve used. I have nothing negative to say about this soap. If anything, I would like stronger scents, and would like to see it come in its own container for storage, but those are personal nit picks.

Overall: highly recommended!

Packaging – 3.5
Performance – 5
Scent – 4

Great job Bryan!

Leave a comment

Filed under review, SOTD

Let me know what you think?