SOTD 8/4 The Long and Short of It (Menthol Monday)

08042014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: VDH Boar Brush
Soap: HTGAM – Frost Byte
Razor: ’32 -40 Gillette Short Comb Ball Tip
Blade:  PolSilver IR
Splash:  Shea Moisture Shave Tea Tree Herbal AS
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer  & Fine Classic AS – Platinum

ICY!  That’s really the only way to describe my shave this morning.  I swear each time I use Frost Byte it gets colder!  My eyes were seriously watering.  I don’t think I could handle a soap much colder than this.  I’m still going to try them.  I’m a glutton for frozen punishment apparently.  I can’t see Frost Byte ever being a more than once a week soap though.  Great lather.  Good skin feel after cold water rinse.

After a thorough cleaning last night, I just had to use my newest acquisition today.  Tossed in a PolSilver blade.  Not a bad combo.  While physically, the Short Comb “looks” less aggressive than the New Long Comb, based on visible blade gap, it actually felt like more of the blade was contacting the skin.  So with that, and being a first use of this razor, I was rather ginger with the shave and didn’t “chase the baby”.  Ended up with a DFS, with minor clean up.  Somehow I missed a spot about the size of a 50 cent piece totally.  Didn’t discover it until the final rinse, luckily I hadn’t cleaned my brush or bowl yet so still had lather LOL

Drawing on the inevitable comparison between the New Long Comb and the Short Comb, so far I think I prefer the Long Comb.  That might be because of the distinct weight difference.  The Short Comb is definitely the lighter of the two.  I think with a heavier handle, the Short Comb may out shave the New, but as is I have to give the nod to the New Long Comb.

Second round using the PolSilver.  Feel nicely sharp.  Not as smooth compared to the Astra SP, but not rough either.  Definitely a better match with the Short Comb than the Tech.  I should get a decent 3 shaves out of this blade.  Have a great start to your week!

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?