SOTD 8/5 Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes…

08052014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: GBS Pure Badger
Soap: The Los Angeles Shaving Soap Company – Woody Lavender
Razor: Frankentech
Blade:  Racer Super Stainless (4)
Splash:  Wal-Mart Witch Hazel 86%
Post: Nivea Sensitive ASB  & Aqua Velva Classic Ice Blue

It is really fascinating how my tastes and opinions of razors, soaps, and blades change and evolve as I get more experienced on this shaving journey.  My Tech was my first vintage purchase and quickly became my favorite razor.  I loved the smooth shave it gave with almost any blade I threw at it.  I still love my Tech, especially with the Muhle handle.  But I am increasingly finding it to be too mild for me now.  Unless I use a super sharp blade (i.e Feather, Voskhod, Persona Red), I have to really do a lot of buffing and touch up to get the shave that I prefer now.  I will continue to use my Tech, but going forward it will be limited as to what blades I use in it.

Speaking of blades, I pushed the Racer to a 4th shave.  I was curious as initially it was a pretty sharp blade.   It was still decently sharp, and pretty smooth.  End up with a pretty decent shave.  Definitely had to do some touch up in a few areas but overall was pretty close.  No weepers or irritation. Need to try this blade in one of my open combs.

The LA Shaving Soap is one of those soaps that I have a hard time picking up the scent.  So I can’t really describe it.  I get some faint floral notes but otherwise its just a pleasant melange of mildly herbal smells.  I know I’m probably in the minority here but I really like more pronounced scents.  I do love how this soap (or is it more of croap?) lathers!  Takes very little effort to get a ton of rich lather.  Felt a little dry between passes but the after shave skin feel is pretty nice and smooth.  I would probably recommend this soap if you like earthy/floral scents.

Topped off the shave with the classic Aqua Velva.  Feeling good and smelling good.  Have a productive Tuesday!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?