SOTD 9/16 The Arko of the Covenant

09162014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: Arko
Razor:  Maggard Razors MR3
Blade:  Gillette 7 O’Clock Yellow (3)
Splash:  Thayers Natural Remedies Lemon Witch Hazel w/ Aloe Vera Astringent
Post: Dove Men+Care ASB & Aqua Velva Classic Ice Blue

Smooth is the best word to describe this mornings shave!  BBS front to back, no weepers and no irritation.  Can it get any better than that?

After trying the Tabac on Monday and discussing it’s famous scent, it made sense for me to whip out the other famous polarizing soap scent – Arko!  I didn’t really care for Arko that much initially but it has definitely grown on me and has earned a spot in my regular rotation.  It whips up a decent lather, has nice cushion and glide, and YES I like the scent.  As a matter of fact, I have to admit, while Tabac is the better performer of the two.. I have to say I prefer the scent of Arko!  While they are both soapy scents, Arko has an underlying sweetness to its smell that appeals to me more than Tabacs super soapy “laundry detergent” smell.  Sorry Pete 😉

Third shave on the 7 O’Clock Yellow blade.  I could tell it wasn’t a fresh one but it was still plenty sharp, and very little touch up was needed.  No tugging and scraping. So far they are in my top five blades.  Haven’t disappointed me yet.  Possibly a perfect match for my MR3.  It’s going to be hard to get a closer, smoother shave.

Keep on Shaving!!

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?