SOTD 11/10 Menthol Monday

11102014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Neon Barber Handle (The Force)
Soap: Headblade Headslick
Razor:  Merkur 41C 1904 OC
Blade:  Croma Diamant (2)
Splash:   Shea Moisture Shave Tea Tree Herbal Bump Preventer
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer & Fine Classic AS

Back to Menthol Monday!  Jumped back in with an oldie but goodie for me.  It’s the soap that got me started.  Head Slick by Headblade.  I’ve posted SOTDs using this soap before but it tends to get buried in the rotation, so it’s always fun when I “re-discover” it!

The lather generation of this cream is excellent.  It’s a little thirsty but well worth the effort.  The menthol kick is right up there with Razorock Brain Freeze.  Starts off kind of mellow but quickly builds to polar levels.  Great cushion and excellent razor glide.  The scent is really all menthol, at least thats all my nose picks up.  And.. it’s relatively cheap.  You typically only need about a quarter sized dollop to make enough lather.  I do 3 passes on the dome & 4 passes on face and neck with lather left over.

2nd shave on the Croma blade.  Still super smooth.  This shave confirmed that this blade isn’t the best combination with this razor.  Wasn’t a bad shave by any means, but I had to go over some areas repeatedly to get them where they should be.  The Croma worked excellently in more aggressive razors.

“Either I will find a way, or I will make one.” – Philip Sidney

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?