SOTD 8/15

08152014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: Custom Boar by Steve Brown Swirl Handle
Soap: TOBS – Mr. Taylor
Razor: Merkur 41C 1904 OC
Blade:  Voskhod
Splash:  Wal-Mart Witch Hazel 86%
Post: Brut Original Fragrance Moisturizing ASB  & Master Well Bay Rum AS

The 41C is officially my smoothest shaving razor!  At the very least, it’s my smoothest OC razor.  Again I had to check a couple times to make sure the blade was seated correctly because it felt like there was no blade contacting my skin.  And that was with a brand new Voskhod blade!  Ended up with a DFS.  Not quite BBS but definitely a great close shave.

Apparently I had overlooked a sample in my collection.  Found that I had never used the Mr. Taylor.  So of course I rectified that situation this morning.  As typical of TOBS soaps it lathered fantastically.  The texture of the soap felt a bit different than the other TOBS I’d used.  Kind of crumbly.  But any concern I had vanished once I pressed it into my bowl.  Another one of those scents I’m not super enamored with.  It’s not a bad scent, just not one that excites me. I can’t really describe it, it’s got an old school, earthy kind of scent.  Again, nothing bad, just not for me.

Pulled out my second new brush by Steve!  I forgot to prep it last night so I used it “raw”.  Turned out not to really matter.  It performed great.  I was slightly concerned as it is probably my smallest brush and I have decently large hands, but it actually felt pretty good.  The boar knot is small and compact.  It picked up lather quickly.  Once it blooms this brush is going to be fantastic.  Has good feel on the skin also.

I’m getting more into blending scents. I like the combo of the Brut ASB and the Bay Rum.  We’ll see if a get any comments on it today.  TGIF!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?