SOTD 9/4 A Maggard-y Morning Matey!

09042014

Pre: Maggard Razors PSO – Lime
Brush: Shea Synthetic Moisturizer
Soap: Maggard Razors – Lime & Bergamot
Razor:  ’66 Gillette Slim Adjustable
Blade:  Gillette Silver Blue
Splash:  Thayers Natural Remedies Lemon Witch Hazel w/ Aloe Vera Astringent
Post: Pacific Shaving Moisturizer & Master Well Bay Rum AS

Good morning!  Forgive the hokey pirate reference but it’s really that kind of morning LOL

Finally using a Maggard Razors full size soap instead just a sample.  It makes a difference.  I was already in love with the soap, hence the purchase, but man NOW I really understand!  Just loading a fairly damp brush for my usual 30 secs resulted in the brush being super loaded!  Moving it to the lather bowl with just a tad bit more water resulted in a ton of rich,, creamy, fragrant lather.  Speaking of the scent, the sample didn’t do it justice.  It’s a solid, strong scent (but not overpowering) that stays with me throughout the shave.  Sweet & fruity but not candy sweet.  The bergamot keeps the lime from being cloying.  Plenty of cushion and very slick!  Will be picking up more soap from Maggards for sure.

Popped a Silver Blue in the Slim set on 5, because of the great pairing it proved to be the first time.  It remained so this time.  Smooth and sharp.  No weepers or irritation.  BBS all the way around, including the neck, which you know hardly ever gets better than a DFS for me.

Finished up with the Thayers and the Bay Rum AS to keep the citrus going.  Still smells great as I’m posting this.  I find that pairing the bay rum with a citrus-y scent brings out the citrus notes in the bay rum more.  I like that.  Get out and do something with Thursday! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under SOTD

2 responses to “SOTD 9/4 A Maggard-y Morning Matey!

  1. mickeyobe

    15 men on a dead man’s chest.
    Yo ho ho and a bottle of Bay Rum.
    Although I prefer Musk.

    You cheer me up every day with your daring experiments.

    Thanks.
    Mickey

Let me know what you think?