SOTD 9/13 Lite Ice Plz..

09132014

Pre: Shave Secret
Brush: VDH Kit Brush – Boar
Soap: Headblade Headslick
Razor:  ’30-’40s Clix Bakelite Razor
Blade:  Treet Platinum
Splash:  Wal-Mart Witch Hazel 86%
Post: Brut Original Fragrance Moisturizing ASB & Pinaud Clubman Classic AS

A surprisingly good & icy shave this morning!  I say surprising as I used a razor that I had no intention of ever shaving with, when I found it.  I picked up the Clix razor on a whim, because it was cheap, and because I didn’t own any bakelite razors.  It was totally meant to just be a collection piece.  I didn’t even think about cleaning it until this morning.

So feeling adventurous, I broke it out and cleaned it up.  It’s in great shape despite some discoloration on the metal cap.  I popped in a Treet Platinum blade as I know it’s a very forgiving blade.  And I went to work.  First impressions – the razor is SUPER lightweight! I’d go so far as to say it’s lighter than some carts, like the Gillette Fusion or Body.  The blade exposure and gap is very much like that of a Tech head.  In fact, it shaves very similar to my Tech.  With the Treet blade, it made for a very smooth and close shave.  I always worry with lighter razors that I will use too much pressure, but it wasn’t an issue with this one.  This was my first time ever using a bakelite razor and it makes me want to try others.

The Headslick was super icy today!  I’d compare its freeze to that of C.O. Bigelow, but maybe builds a bit quicker.  Lot’s of moisture and great razor glide.  They knew what they were doing when they developed this cream for head shaving.

For the first time in many weekends, I have no plans.  What to do, what to do… 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under SOTD

Let me know what you think?